In 2003, the city of Louisville and Jefferson County governments merged. All services consolidated, with exception to fire protection. Today, 19 separate fire departments protect 400 square miles and 760,000 people of a mostly unified Louisville Metro. "Suburban Fire" or the Jefferson County Fire Service consists of 17 individual fire protection districts that collectively protect 495,000 within 333 square miles that generally surround the former city limits of Louisville.  The city of Shively is the only municipality within Jefferson County to have remained autonomous.